New radio mix for sub_text

Deep in the heart of the Melbourne winter lockdown, European online radio stream sub_text invited me to make a mix for their upcoming end-of-year broadcast. I’ve made a mix of Australian sonic pioneers, bangers and oddities, historical and contemporary. This will be streamed live on 19 December (at 22:45 Euro time), which will be at 08:45am on Sunday 20 December AEDT (Melbourne) time. Relevant links:

*live at* (select stream II)
*later at*
Facebook event

Direct link to mix now on MixCloud.

Track details:

Untitled – Club Sound Witches, from “bdtd 165” (Breakdance the Dawn)

Def Whitlam – Volvox, from Various Artists “Spill Compilation Tape” (Spill)

Vegetable Items – Sister Gwen McKay, from Various Artists “The Rebirth of Fool: Vol 2” (Dual Plover)

Hi Lo – David Ahern (unreleased)

Breaking Bones – Will Guthrie, from “Sticks, Stones & Breaking Bonees” (Antboy Music/Lespourricords/Gaffer Records)

Floor Tom 1 – A.S., from “Two Floor Toms, Two Kick Drums, and a Cymbal” (Tape Ways)

Readymade Marimba – Ren Walters, Clinton Green & Michael McNab, from “At The Salt Museum” (Shame File Music)

No, No You Can’t Do That – Jas H. Duke, from “Poems of Life and Death” (Collective Effort Press)

Journey #1 (excerpt) – Jack Ellitt, from Various Artists “Artefacts of Australian Experimental Music: 1930-1973” (Shame File Music)

Death to the Users of the World – NO, from “NO” (Au Go Go)

God – Primitive Calculators, from “The World is Fucked” (Chapter Music)

Sickness & Death – India Bharti, from “Spirit Sound” (Shiva Sounds)

And Now You Have To Go – Surge Guard, from Various Artists “Spill Compilation Two” (Spill)

Boomerang Tape Recording Club – Rik Rue, from “All Gear Drive”, JJ radio archive cassette (unreleased)

Make It Up Club 2012 – Carolyn Connors, from “Surface Noise Vol. 9” (Iceage Productions/Shame File Music)

Dub for St Rita – Rik Rue, from “Dub for St Rita” (Shame File Music)

Who Do I Tell – Kallista Kult, from “Kallista Kult” (A Colourful Storm)

Through Fire – Jim Denley, from “Through Fire, Crevice & Hidden Valley” (Splitrec)

An Echo – Todd Anderson-Kunert, from “Past Walls & Windows” (Room40)

Irregular Correspondence Mixcloud

During Melbourne’s winter lockdown, I spent some time making a couple of mixes. The first was commissioned for an online radio show and will be broadcast next month (stay tuned…). The second, Irregular Correspondence, I made off my own bat because I enjoyed making the first one so much. In compiling it, I found myself reflecting on loss, grief, and this strange year.

Full details and track listing below:

  1. Albert Ayler “Truth Is Marching In”, from “Live in Greenwich Village: The Complete Impulse Recordings (Impulse! 1998, rec. 1966)
  2. Sun Ra and the Omniverse Jet Set Arkestra “Journey to Saturn/Saturn’s Rings”, from “The Complete Detroit Jazz Center Residency” (Transparency 2008, rec. 1980)
  3. Reverend Sister Mary M. Nelson “Judgement”, from “Anthology of American Folk Music” (Folkways 1952, rec. 1927)
  4. Splatterheads “Ticket”  (live to air Triple J, 1990)
  5. A.A. Gray and Seven Foot Dilly “The Old Ark’s A Moving”, from “Goodbye, Babylon” (Dust To Digital 2003, rec. 1930)
  6. Dickson Dee “HK Now”, from “East Asia PhoNographic Mornings” (Each Morning of the World 2020)
  7. The Donkey’s Tail “Why Noise?”, from “Why Noise?” (White Circle Records 2013)
  8. Cor Fuhler & Dale Gorinkel “Live at CURRENT 2018” (private recording)
  9. Pateras/Baxter/Brown “Bern 3”, from “Bern – Melbourne – Milan” (Immediata 2018, rec. 2006)
  10. Clinton Green “Setting for ‘The Iliad’”, from “Iliad” (Frustration Jazz 2018)
  11. Michael Pisaro (performed by Greg Stuart) “A Cloud Drifting Over the Plain”, from “Four Pieces for Recorded Percussion (Il faut attendre)” (2020)
  12. Diane Cluck “My Teacher Died/Countless Times”, from “Countless Times” (Voodoo Eros 2005)
  13. DFFDL “Corella”, from “Corella” (Reduction Group 2020)
  14. Sun Ra and His Arkestra “They Plan to Leave”, from “Ra to the Rescue” (Saturn 1983)
  15. Fiona Apple “I Want You To Love Me”, from “Fetch the Bolt Cutters” (Clean Slate/Epic 2020)