New radio mix for sub_text

Deep in the heart of the Melbourne winter lockdown, European online radio stream sub_text invited me to make a mix for their upcoming end-of-year broadcast. I’ve made a mix of Australian sonic pioneers, bangers and oddities, historical and contemporary. This will be streamed live on 19 December (at 22:45 Euro time), which will be at 08:45am on Sunday 20 December AEDT (Melbourne) time. Relevant links:


*live at* https://threadsradio.com/ (select stream II)
*later at* https://www.subtextradio.net/
Facebook event https://www.facebook.com/events/420136192347608

Direct link to mix now on MixCloud.

Track details:

Untitled – Club Sound Witches, from “bdtd 165” (Breakdance the Dawn)

Def Whitlam – Volvox, from Various Artists “Spill Compilation Tape” (Spill) http://spill-label.org/spill1.shtml

Vegetable Items – Sister Gwen McKay, from Various Artists “The Rebirth of Fool: Vol 2” (Dual Plover) http://dualplover.com/fool2.php

Hi Lo – David Ahern (unreleased)

Breaking Bones – Will Guthrie, from “Sticks, Stones & Breaking Bonees” (Antboy Music/Lespourricords/Gaffer Records) https://willguthrie.bandcamp.com/album/sticks-stones-breaking-bones

Floor Tom 1 – A.S., from “Two Floor Toms, Two Kick Drums, and a Cymbal” (Tape Ways) https://youtu.be/9mCIaC2t85w

Readymade Marimba – Ren Walters, Clinton Green & Michael McNab, from “At The Salt Museum” (Shame File Music) https://shamefilemusic.bandcamp.com/album/at-the-salt-museum

No, No You Can’t Do That – Jas H. Duke, from “Poems of Life and Death” (Collective Effort Press) http://www.ubu.com/sound/duke.html

Journey #1 (excerpt) – Jack Ellitt, from Various Artists “Artefacts of Australian Experimental Music: 1930-1973” (Shame File Music) https://shamefilemusic.bandcamp.com/album/artefacts-of-australian-experimental-music-1930-1973

Death to the Users of the World – NO, from “NO” (Au Go Go)

God – Primitive Calculators, from “The World is Fucked” (Chapter Music) https://primitivecalculators.bandcamp.com/album/the-world-is-fucked

Sickness & Death – India Bharti, from “Spirit Sound” (Shiva Sounds)

And Now You Have To Go – Surge Guard, from Various Artists “Spill Compilation Two” (Spill) http://spill-label.org/spill2.shtml

Boomerang Tape Recording Club – Rik Rue, from “All Gear Drive”, JJ radio archive cassette (unreleased)

Make It Up Club 2012 – Carolyn Connors, from “Surface Noise Vol. 9” (Iceage Productions/Shame File Music) http://shamefilemusic.com/product/ernie-althoff-carolyn-connors-surface-noise-vol-9-cdr-digital/

Dub for St Rita – Rik Rue, from “Dub for St Rita” (Shame File Music) https://shamefilemusic.bandcamp.com/album/dub-for-st-rita

Who Do I Tell – Kallista Kult, from “Kallista Kult” (A Colourful Storm) https://kallistakult.bandcamp.com/album/kallista-kult-2

Through Fire – Jim Denley, from “Through Fire, Crevice & Hidden Valley” (Splitrec) https://splitrec.bandcamp.com/album/through-fire-crevice-and-the-hidden-valley

An Echo – Todd Anderson-Kunert, from “Past Walls & Windows” (Room40) https://room40.bandcamp.com/album/past-walls-and-windows

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s